26 Sep 2014

2014 Scholar Award Recipients Announced by International Plant Nutrition Institute

September 26, 2014. Peachtree Corners, Georgia, U.S. – The winners of the International Plant Nutrition Institute’s (IPNI) 2014 Scholar Award have been selected.

“We have had another record response to our Scholar Award program this year,” said Dr. Terry L. Roberts, IPNI President. The global representation of universities and the wide array of fields of study that were represented in this year’s submissions were impressive. The academic institutions these young people represent, and their professors and advisers, can be proud of their student’s accomplishments. Our selection committee adheres to rigorous guidelines in considering important aspects of each applicant’s academic and personal achievements.”

In total, 30 graduate students were named to receive the IPNI Scholar Award in 2014. Each Scholar receives the equivalent of US$2,000.

Graduate students attending a degree-granting institution located in any country within an IPNI regional program are eligible. The award is available to graduate students in science programs relevant to plant nutrition science and the management of crop nutrients including: agronomy, horticulture, ecology, soil fertility, soil chemistry, crop physiology, environmental science, and others.

Regional committees of IPNI scientific staff select the recipients of the IPNI Scholar Award. The awards are presented directly to the students at a preferred location and no specific duties are required of them.

Funding for the scholar award program is provided through support of IPNI member companies, primary producers of nitrogen, phosphate, potash, and other fertilizers. More information is available from IPNI staff, individual universities, or from the IPNI website: www.ipni.net/awards.

The winners are listed below by Region and University or Institution.

Australia/New Zealand
• Ms. Courtney Peirce, The University of Adelaide, Australia
• Ms. Karthika Krishnasamy, Murdoch University, Australia

• Mr. Ai Chao, Chinese Academy of Agricultural Sciences, Beijing, China
• Mr. Pan Junfeng, Anhui Agricultural University, Anhui, China
• Ms. Hao Yanshu, Huazhong Agricultural University, Hubei, China
• Ms. Chen Yanling, China Agricultural University, Beijing, China
• Ms. Wang Xiao, Chinese Academy of Sciences, Hubei, China

Eastern Europe & Central Asia
• Ms. Alexandra Orekhovskaya, Belgorod State Agricultural Academy, Russia
• Ms. Gulnaz Yusupova, Bashkir State Agrarian University, Russia
• Ms. Alina Revtie, National Scientific Center “Institute for Soil Science and Agrochemistry Research named after O.N. Sokolovsky”, Ukraine

Latin America
• Mr. Marcelo Ferrando, Universidad de la República, Uruguay
• Ms. Geisa Lima Mesquita, Instituto Agronômico, Brazil
• Mr. Elialdo Alves de Souza, São Paulo State University, Brazil
• Mr. Juan Pablo Martinez, Universidad Nacional de Mar del Plata, Argentina
• Mrs. Elizabeth Ramirez Iglesias, Universidad Central de Venezuela, Venezuela

Middle East
• Ms. Marwa Mahmoud Abd - Elbasset, Ain Shams University, Egypt

North America
• Ms. Sarah Page, University of Wisconsin, Madison, WI, USA
• Ms. Alexis Adams, University of Saskatchewan, Saskatoon, SK, Canada
• Ms. Sarah Light, Oregon State University, Corvallis, OR, USA
• Ms. Libby Rens, University of Florida, Gainesville, FL, USA
• Ms. Anne Sawyer, University of Minnesota, St. Paul, MN, USA

North Africa
• Mr. Saad Drissi, Institut Agronomique et Veterinaire Hassan II, Morocco

Sub-Saharan Africa
• Ms. Obianuju Emmanuel, Kwame Nkrumah University of Science and Technology, Ghana
• Mr. Stephen Ichami Muhati, Wageningen University, Netherlands
• Mr. Yenus Kemal, Bahirdar University, Ethiopia

South Asia
• Mr. Dheeraj Kumar Tiwari, C.C.S. Haryana Agricultural University, India
• Mr. Ramesh Chandra Yadav, Indian Agricultural Research Institute, India
• Mr. Krishnendu Ray, Bidhan Chandra Krishi Vishwavidyalaya, India
• Ms. Jayathunga Arachchige Surani Chathurika, Postgraduate Institute of Agriculture, Sri Lanka

Southeast Asia
• Ms. Suzie Haryanti Husain, Universiti Teknologi Mara, Malaysia

For a pdf copy of this release and brief biographical summaries for each of the winners, please visit this webpage.

– END –

About IPNI
The International Plant Nutrition Institute (IPNI) is a not-for-profit, science-based organization dedicated to the responsible management of plant nutrition for the benefit of people. Through cooperation and partnerships with respected institutions around the world, IPNI adds its strength to agronomic research, education, demonstrations, training, and other endeavors. Best management practices for nutrient stewardship encourage the concept of 4Rs - applying the right nutrient source, at the right rate, at the right time, and in the right place. To learn more about IPNI, please visit: www.ipni.net

Dr. Terry Roberts, IPNI President
Phone: 770.447.0335
E-mail: info@ipni.net


Gavin Sulewski, IPNI Editor
Phone: 770.825.8080
E-mail: gsulewski@ipni.net

Additional Resources

01 IPNI Newsflash - IPNI Scholar Award 30Sep2014.pdfSize: 0.12 MB

More about: Press Releases